Summer Running Events in Oakland County

Prepared to sprint and sweat under Oakland County sun? This page lists all known summer running events in and around the Oakland County area. From races and triathlons to walks and marathons, every kind of running event is covered in our comprehensive list below.

For more information on any of the events, visit the links listed under each event.

June

Saturday, June 2
Run with the Police: 5k Run and Walk
1411 W Webster Rd, Royal Oak, MI 48073-31135

Sunday, June 3
Dexter to Ann Arbor Run: 10k and 5k Run
Creekside Intermediate School, 2615 Baker Drive, Dexter, MI

Sunday, June 3
2018 Stampede Scleroderma: 5K Run and Walk
Detroit Zoo, 8450 W. 10 Mile Rd, Royal Oak, MI 48067

Friday, June 8
Teal Track and Trail: 5K Run and Walk
12500 Holly Rd, Grand Blanc, MI 48439

Saturday, June 9
Flirt With Dirt: 10K and 5K Trail Race
599 S. Lake Dr, Novi, MI 48377

Sunday, June 10
Big Fish: Triathlon and Duathlon
Ortonville Recreation Area, 5779 Hadley Road, Ortonville, MI 48462

Sunday, June 10
Race Header 5th Annual Matthew P. Frankfurth Memorial 5K Fun Run: 5k Run and Walk
Ortonville Recreation Area, 5779 Hadley Road, Ortonville, MI 48462

Sunday, June 17
MIU Run for the Ribbon: 5k Run and Walk
Detroit Zoo, 8450 West 10 Mile Road, Royal Oak, MI 48067

Wednesday, June 20
Triceratops Triathlon: Triathlon (SOLD OUT)
Island Lake Recreation Area, 12950 Grand River Avenue, Brighton, MI 48116

Sunday, June 24
Motor City Triathlon: Triathlon
Belle Isle, Shelter 1, Detroit, MI 48209

Saturday, June 30
Rattlesnake Family Fun Run & 5K: 5k Run and Walk
Rochester Municipal Park – Paint Creek Trail, 400 6 Street, Rochester, MI 48306

Saturday, June 30
Zeppelins Peace Run: 5k Run and Walk
2125 Denby Dr, Waterford Township, MI 48329


July

Tuesday, July 4
Hungry Duck Run: Half Marathon and 5k Run and Walk
7878 Brighton Rd, Brighton, MI 48116

Tuesday, July 4
Hadley 5k Run of the Mill: 5k Run
3633 South Hadley Road Hadley, MI US 48440

Saturday, July 14
Escape to Belle Isle: 10k, 5k, and Kids Run and Walk
1 Casino Way, Detroit, MI 48209

Sunday, July 16
Holly Triathlon: Triathlon
8100 Grange Hall Road, Holly, MI 48442

Saturday, July 21
Road Runner Classic: 8k and 5k Run and Walk
20145 Beck Rd, Northville, MI 48167

Saturday, July 21
Kettering University’s Atwood Stadium Races: 10k and 5k Run
Atwood Stadium, 701 University Ave, Flint, Michigan 48503

Wednesday, July 25
Pterodactyl Triathlon: Triathlon (SOLD OUT)
Island Lake Recreation Area, 12950 Grand River Avenue, Brighton, MI 48116

Saturday, July 28
Heart of the Hills Run: 10k and 5k Run
4200 Andover Rd, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302

Saturday, July 28
Loopty Loop: 12, 8, and 4 Hour Race
Bloomer Park 345 John R Rd. Rochester Hills, MI 48307

TBD
The Kensington Marathon: Marathon, Half Marathon and 10k Runs
4570 Huron River Pkwy, Milford, MI 48380


August

Saturday, August 4
Run 24: 24 Hour Race
5300 McGinnis Rd, Holly, MI 48442

Sunday, August 5
8th Annual Strides for SOUL: 5k Run and Walk
142 East Lake Drive, Walled Lake, MI 48390

Sunday, August 12
Sturgeon Sprint Family Fun Run & 5K: 5k Run and Walk
Belle Isle Aquarium 3, Inselruhe Ave, Detroit, MI 48207

Sunday, August 12
The Third Annual Purple Polka Dot Race: 5k Run and Walk
4300 Main Park Dr, Shelby Charter Township, MI 48316

Saturday, August 18
Cruise in Shoes: 5k Run and Walk
Yorba Linda Blvd, Royal Oak, MI 48073

Saturday, August 18
Trail Fest: 10k and 5k Run and Walk
6360 Chilson Rd. Howell, MI 48843

Wednesday, August 22
T-Rex Triathlon: Triathlon (SOLD OUT)
Island Lake Recreation Area, 12950 Grand River Avenue, Brighton, MI 48116

Saturday, August 25
Dragon on the Run
Lake Orion Downtown Authority – 118 North Broadway, Lake Orion, MI 48362


September

Saturday, September 1
18th Annual Milford Labor Day 30k: 30k, 10k, and 6k Run
2025 S Milford Rd, Milford, MI 48381

Saturday, September 8
Annual Donut Dash 5K Run/Walk
9180 Highland Road, White Lake

Friday, September 7-9
Woodstock Festival: 100k, 50k Run and More  (Sold out)
10866 Cedar Lake Rd, Pinckney, MI 48169

Saturday, September 15
Gilda’s Family 5k: 5k Run
3517 S Rochester Rd, Royal Oak, MI 48073

Sunday, September 16
Turtle Trot 5K: 5k Run
Gallup Park Canoe & Kayak Livery 3000 Fuller Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Sunday, September 23
The Brooksie Way: 10k, 5k, and Fun Run
234 Festival Dr, Rochester, MI 48309

That’s all for the summer of 2018!

To find races during different seasons, check out our spring or fall running event pages under the Things to Do section of the Oakland County Blog.

Do you know of any other summer running events in the Oakland County area? Let us know by contacting us at socialmedia@oakgov.com or leaving a comment below.


Follow along with Oakland County on FacebookTwitterLinkedInInstagramPinterest, and YouTube using #OaklandCounty, or visit our website for news and events year-round.