Running Events

All current running events are listed under the Things To Do tab.  Use this page to find a 2016 running event in and around Oakland County. Please check the event website for the latest information as dates and the type of race being offered may change.

Search for a running event with the list below:

March

Saturday, March 12
Royal Oak – Lucky Dash
5K Run

Sunday, March 13
Detroit – St. Patrick’s Day Parade Corktown Races
5K Run/Walk & Kids Run

Saturday, March 19
Utica – Bill Roney Memorial 5K
5K & 1 Mile Run

Sunday, March 20
Farmington – Bunny Hop
5K Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Bad Bunny 5K
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, March 26
Milford – Easter Dash
10K, 5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run

Walled Lake – The 9th Annual Passion for Life 5K & 5M
5 Mile Run & 5K Run/Walk


April

Friday, April 1
Ann Arbor – April Fools Day Twinkie Run
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, April 2
Brighton – No Frills, All Thrills
8K & 4K Trail Race

Sunday, April 3
Ann Arbor – Probility Ann Arbor Marathon
Marathon, Half Marathon, 10K & 5K Run

Oakland Township – Bald Mountain “Mountain Man”
5.6 Mile Trail Run & 2.1 Mile Hike

Saturday, April 9
Dearborn – Martian Invasion of Races
Marathon, Half Marathon, 10K, 5K & Kids Run/Walk

Sunday, April 10
Ann Arbor – Big House 5K
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, April 16
Madison Heights – Run for the Health of It
5K Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Run The Creek
5K Run/Walk & Kids Run

Saturday, April 17
Ann Arbor – Run 4 Earth Day
4 Mile Fun Run

Farmington Hills – Kona Cheesecake Run
8K, 5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Friday, April 22
Fenton – 5K Rave Run
5K Color Run/Walk

Saturday, April 23
Bloomfield Township – Run for the Money
5K Run/Walk & Youth 100 Yard Dash

Clarkston – April Refuge Run
10K, 5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Flint – Flint Superhero 5K
5K Run/Walk & 1K Fun Run

Pinckney – Trail Half Marathon
Half Marathon

South Lyon – Pint Sized Fun Run
2.62 Mile Fun Run

Sunday, April 24
Pinckney – Trail Marathon
Marathon, 50K & Road Ends 5 Mile Run

Shelby Township – Jack’s Jocks for Jack’s Place
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Costume Walk

Saturday, April 30
Belle Isle, Detroit – Belle Isle ‘Spring Into Nature’ 5K
5K Run/Walk

Flushing – Run Like a Wildebeest (Greg Flint’s Run)
10K Run, 5K Run/Walk & Little Wildebeest Run (once around the track)

Milford – Superhero 5K
5K Run/Walk

Mount Clemens – Festival of Races
Half Marathon, 5K & Kids Run

Novi – Novi Half Marathon
Half Marathon, 10K & 5K Run


May

Sunday, May 1
Ann Arbor – Burns Park Run
10K & 5K Run/Walk, 1 Mile Fun Run

Flint – Flintstone Challenge
5K Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Special Dreams Farm 5K
5K Run/Walk

Thursday, May 5
Ann Arbor – Cinco De Mayo
5 Mile Run/Walk

Friday, May 6
Northville – Moonlight Bootlegger 5K
5K Night Run/Walk

Saturday, May 7
Ann Arbor – Tortoise and Hare 5K
5K Run

Berkley – Berkley Days Fun Run/Walk
10K, 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run/Walk

Clarkston – MORC Miles for Smiles 5K
5K Run/Walk & Kids Run

Clawson – Angels on the Run
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Detroit – Color Me Rad
5K Fun Run/Walk

Flint – Cinco de Mayo
10K Run, 5K Run/Walk

Flint – 3 Disciplines – Du the Bricks Duathlon
Duathlon: 20K Bike & 5K Run

Holly – Masonic Miles 5K
5K Run/Walk & Kids Fun Run

Lake Orion – NOCC Family Fun Color Run
5K Run/Walk

Milford – Breakthrough for Brain Tumors
5K Run/Walk

Oxford – Oxford Wildcat Race
10K, 5K & Kids Run/Walk

Rochester – Hometown Hustle
5K Fun Run/Walk

Royal Oak – MOM Run/Walk for Mental Health Awareness & Suicide Prevention
5K Run/Walk

Waterford – Miles for Mason
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, May 14
Clarkston – 9th Annual Angels’ Place Race
10K Run & 5K Run/Walk

Ortonville – Bookin’ It For Your Library 5K & Dewey Decimal Dash
5K Run/Walk & Kids Run

Shelby Township – 5K for Mom Kay
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Southfield – Tone Up for Tune Ups
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Walk

Sunday, May 15
Auburn Hills – Hearts and Hands Fun Run/Walk
5K Fun Run/Walk & Maxfield Mile

Lake Orion – Dragon Dash
5K Trail Run/Walk

Milford – The Great American 5K
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Stony Creek “Back to the Beach”
Half Marathon, 10K & 5K Run

Saturday, May 20
Detroit – Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Walk

Fenton – Fenton Tiger 5K & Tiger Trot
5K Run/Walk

Highland – Highland Loops Trail Run    2017
16 Mile & 7 Mile Trail Run

Lake Orion – Run Over Addiction
5K Run/Walk

Northville – Armed Forces Day 5K
5K Run/Walk

Shelby Township – I Care 4 Healthcare
5K Run/Walk

South Lyon – Book’n Trilogy
5K Run/Walk

Sunday, May
Rochester Hills – 1st Annual Perry Badia Memorial 5K
5K Run/Walk

Wixom – Aveda 5K Fun Run and Walk for Water
3 Mile Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run

Wednesday, May 25
Holly – Run @ Holly I
Road or Trail 5K

Sunday, May 29
Ortonville – Big Fish
Triathlon & Duathlon

Monday, May 30
Novi – Novi Memorial Day Run
10K, 5K & 1 Mile Family Run/Walk

Pinckney – Memorial Day 5K
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run


June

Saturday, June 4
Ann Arbor – Dexter to Ann Arbor Kids Run
Kids Fun Run

Clawson – ACHC Oakland County Run Drugs Out of Town
5K Run/Walk

Holly – Run With Your Pack
5K Run/Walk & Husky Fun Run

Novi – Flirt With Dirt
10K & 5K Trail Race

Rochester – OPC 5K Run and Walk for Meals
5K Run/Walk

Royal Oak – 39th Annual Oak Apple Run
10K, 5K, 2 Mile Fun Run/Walk, 1/4 Mile Kids Run

St. Clair Shores – Michigan Parkinson Foundation 5K
5K Run & Walk-A-Thon

Saturday, June 5
Dexter-Ann Arbor – Dexter to Ann Arbor Run
Half Marathon, 10K & 5K Run

Macomb – The Hunger Run
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run

Royal Oak – Stampede Scleroderma
10K, 5K Run & 1 Mile Walk

Friday, June 10
Grand Blanc – Teal Track and Trail 5K
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, June 11
Northville – Kona Run
10 Mile Run, 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Novi – Emergency Challenge Obstacle Race
5K Obstacle Race

Sunday, June 12
Belle Isle, Detroit – Motor City Triathlon
Olympic & Sprint Triathlon, Olympic & Sprint Aquabike & Super Sprint

Waterford – 3rd Annual Matthew P. Frankfurth Memorial 5K Fun Run
5K Fun Run/Walk

Saturday, June 18
Oxford – Eleonore Rocks Waterstone
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run

Shelby Township – Run2Read
10K & 5K Trail Run, 5K Walk

Southfield – Summer Soulstice
5K Run/Walk, Kids Run, 1 Mile Walk, 1/4 Mile Fun Run

Sunday, June 19
Royal Oak – MIU Run for the Ribbon 5K
5K Run/Walk

Wednesday, June 22
Brighton – Triceratops Triathlon
Triathlon: 1/2 Mile Swim, 12 Mile Bike & 5K Run

Saturday, June 24
Auburn Hills – Color Me Extraordinary  2017
5K Run/Walk

Huntington Woods – Run/Walk BOOM 2016
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Stony Creek Metropark – Thru the Woods Trail Run
Half Marathon, 10 Mile & 5 Mile Run/Walk

Waterford – Zeppelins Peace Run
5K Run/Walk


July

Monday, July 4
Brighton – Hungry Duck Run
Half Marathon & 5K Run

Hadley – Hadley Run
5K Run/Walk

Saturday, July 9
Ortonville – Brandon Warrior Warm-Up
5K & 2.5K Run/Walk

Thursday, July 14
Flint – Huckleberry Hustle & Little Berry Dash
5K & Kids Run/Walk

Saturday, July 16
Belle Isle, Detroit – Escape to Belle Isle
10K, 5K & Kids Run/Walk

Flint – Atwood Stadium 5K/10K Run
10K & 5K Run/Walk

Sunday, July 17
Holly – Holly Triathlon
Duathlon, Triathlon, Sprint & Relays

Wednesday, July 20
Brighton – Pterodactyl Triathlon
Triathlon: 1/2 Mile Swim, 12 Mile Bike & 5K Run

Saturday, July 23
Northville – Road Runner Classic
8K, 5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Saturday, July 30
Ann Arbor – Turtle Trot 5K
5K Run/Walk

Rochester Hills – Loopty Loop
Ultra Trail Marathon Run/Walk

Sunday, July 31
Milford – The Kensington Marathon
Half Marathon & 10K Run

Novi – Jon Logan Memorial Triathlon & Open Water Swim
Triathlon: 1/2 Mile Swim, 12 Mile Bike, 5K Run & Open Water Swim


August

Saturday, August 1
Walled Lake – 5th Annual Strides for SOUL
5K Run/Walk

Sunday, August 7
Southfield – 3rd Annual End Homelessness Now 5K/10K
5K & 10K Run

Wednesday, August 10
Holly – Run @ Holly II
Road or Trail 5K

Sunday, August 14
Shelby Township – Purple Polka Dot Race
5K Run/Walk & 1 Mile Fun Run

Wednesday, August 17
Brighton – T-Rex Triathlon
Triathlon: 1/2 Mile Swim, 12 Mile Bike & 5K Run

Brighton – T-Rex Youth Triathlon
7-10 age group: 100 Meter Swim, 2 Mile Bike & 1K Run
11-15 age group: 200 Meter Swim, 3.5 Mile Bike & 2K Run

Saturday, August 20
Farmington – Run for the Hills
5K, 10K & 1K Fun Run

Milford – Glow in the Park
5K Fun Run/Walk

Royal Oak – Cruise in Shoes
5K Fun Run/Walk

Friday, August 26
Belle Isle, Detroit – The Red Carpet Run
5K Run

Flint – Crim Michigan Mile Race Series
USA Track & Field Members Only

Saturday, August 27
Flint – Crim Festival of Races
10 Mile, 8K, 5K Run/Walk & Kids Run

Howell – Trail Fest 2016
10K, 5K & Double Run/Walk


September

Saturday, September 3
Milford – Annual Labor Day 30K Race
10K Run/Walk, 30K Bike Ride, 6K Fun Trail Run & Kids Fun Run

Sunday, September 4
Belle Isle, Detroit – Michigan Championships Triathlon/Duathlon
Triathlon & Duathlon

Friday, September 9
Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Hallucination 100K
100 Mile & 100K Run

Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Far Out 5K
5K Night Run/Walk

Saturday, September 10
Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Peace, Love and 50 Miles & Freak 50K
50 Mile & 50K Run

Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Mellow Marathon & Hippie Half
Marathon & Half Marathon Run

Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Flower Power 5K
5K Run/Walk

Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Feelin’ Groovy
10K & 5K Night Run/Walk

Sunday, September 11
Pinckney – Run Woodstock! Free Love 5 Mile
5 Mile Run/Walk

Royal Oak – Run Wild for the Detroit Zoo
10K & 5K Runs, 1.5 Mile Fun Walk

Saturday, September 17
Royal Oak – Gilda’s Family 5K
5K Run/Walk

Sunday, September 18
Leonard – Addison Oaks NF Walk & Run
10K & 5K Runs, 2.5 Mile Walk

Novi – The Drew Crew 5K & 10 K Run, Walk or Roll
10K & 5K Run/Walk/Roll

Sunday, September 25
Rochester – The Brooksie Way
10K, 5K & Fun Run


October

Saturday, October 1
Rochester – Rattlesnake Run
5K Run/Walk & Kids Fun Run

Rochester Hills – Trail Run Thru the Leaves
Half Marathon & 10K Run

Sunday, October 2
Flushing – Scrumpy Skedaddle
10K & 5K Run

Holly – Run @ Holly III
Road or Trail 5K

Saturday, October 8
Detroit – Making Strides Against Breast Cancer of Detroit
5K Walk

Sunday, October 15
Detroit – Detroit Marathon
American Home Fitness 5K Run/Walk & Kids Fun Run

Sunday, October 16
Detroit – Detroit Marathon
Marathon & Half Marathon

Saturday, October 22
Clarkston – Runner’s Fairway Series – Shepherd’s Hollow Golf Club
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Rochester – Making Strides Against Breast Cancer of Oakland County
5K Walk

Sunday, October 23
Pinckney – Run Thru Hell
8K & 5K Run/Walk

Rochester Hills – Scare Away Hunger
5K Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Huddle Up
10K & 5K Run/Walk

Tuesday, October 25
Pinckney – Little Hellions Loop
Kids Run


November

Saturday, November 5
Brighton – Hot Cocoa Classic 5K & Marshmallow Mountain Mile
5K & 1 Mile Fun Run

Saturday, November 12
Commerce – Outrun Hunger
5K Run

Rochester Hills – Runner’s Fairway Series – Pine Trace Golf Club
5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Sunday, November 13
Clarkston – Clarkston State Bank Back Roads Half Marathon & 10K/5K
Half Marathon, 10K & 5K Run/Walk

Thursday, November 24
Detroit – Turkey Trot
10K & 5K Run, 1 Mile Run/Walk

Shelby Township – 2016 Life Time Anti-Turkey Trot
10K, 5K & 1 Mile Run/Walk

Shelby Township – Turkey Trail Trot
10K & 4 Mile Run, 2.5 Mile Hike

Friday, November 25
Commerce Township – Black Toenail Friday Half Marathon
Half Marathon & 7 Mile Run

Shelby Township – Turkey Trail Trot
10K & 4 Mile Run, 2.5 Mile Hike


Dates, times, and courses can change. Please check the event website for the latest information. Find even more programs, events and happenings around the county on our Things To Do page.

Visit the Spring, Summer, and Fall running pages to search for a run. Don’t see your race or event listed? Email socialmedia@oakgov.com and let us know!

Visit the Oakland County website, and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest for more news and fun year round. Join the conversation using #OaklandCounty.

2 thoughts on “Running Events

  1. […] a list of the running events in and around Oakland County over the next few months. There are races & […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s